16 Nov Merge List Entry
Merge List Entry
A variation on the edit procedure is to edit the name to match another name on the same list. When the OK button is clicked, the software states: “This name is already being used. Would you like to merge them?” If you choose yes, all of the transactions using the name being edited will be merged into the changed name. Use this option carefully, since there is no easy way to undo a merge, except transaction-by-transaction.
If accounts have been set up incorrectly, it is possible to edit or merge the information. To edit an account, permits a change of account name or a change of an account type (except changing to or from Accounts Receivable or Accounts Payable). This option, when used carefully, can correct data entry errors in total, rather than transaction-by-transaction. Because this option does change the account in total, prior periods may be affected. Depending on the timing of the change, and the magnitude, it may be better to edit the individual transactions or do a journal entry to correctly reclassify the balance, and then use the option to make the account inactive. A variation on the edit procedure is to edit the name to match another account of the same type. When the OK button is clicked, the software states: “This name is already being used. Would you like to merge them?” If you choose yes, all of the transactions in the account being edited will be merged into the account with the same name. Use this option carefully, since there is no easy way to undo a merge, except transaction-by-transaction.
TRICK: If the two accounts on the chart of accounts list to be merged are different account types, changing the name and the type cannot be done in one step. First change the account type and then change the name to merge the accounts together.
TRICK: Be very careful when merging. The information will remain for the account that the name is being changed to, not the name that is being changed. For example, if an account has been created that is called B of A Checking and the account number from the bank has been entered on the edit account screen, then a new account just called Checking has been created without the account number. If B of A Checking is merged into Checking, the remaining account will not have the account number. If Checking is merged into B of A Checking, the account number will remain. The same is true for the other lists. For example, a customer with the address is merged into a customer without the address, the previous information will be lost!
TRICK: When the accounting preference for account numbers has been turned on, it is possible to merge accounts simply by having the same account number. The name will not matter. Again, just like in the previous example, the account name will remain for the account number that the changed account will be merged into.
TRICK: When Balance Sheet accounts are merged, any cleared transactions are merged as uncleared.